2022 Cannes XR x VeeR Future Award Announcement

Ziyi just announced the winner or the VeeR Future Award – Best VR Story: Alex Honnold: The Soloist VR, directed by Jonathan Griffith.

“It’s been a privilege to be a part of the Cannes XR 2022 Jury. It was a unique experience to immerse myself in this new art form. Virtual reality allows us to step right into the narrative. I was able to interact with the characters, and, sometimes, I was part of the storytelling. This experience opened my eyes to the endless possibilities that this technology can offer film-making”, Ms. Zhang Ziyi said.


1 Comment on “2022 Cannes XR x VeeR Future Award Announcement”

  1. FIRST International Film Festival, a film festival-style service platform in China, focuses on discovering and promoting young filmmakers and their works.
    Since its inception in 2006, after 15 years of patient exploration and active experimentation, FIRST has intervened in the current Chinese youth film industry in the form of a film festival, focusing its direction on discovering debut and early works of filmmakers. It is also a berth in the basin of world cinema, offering the world a multi-faceted example of Chinese youth cinema in the mechanism of memorializing contemporary film history.
    As a platform for the exchange of film culture, art and industry, FIRST revives the spirit of cinema by screening and promoting high-quality film works every year, providing the industry with a diverse selection of Chinese youth films, intervening in the ecological cycle of the film industry, and chiseling the memory of contemporary film history.
    With its mission of the film industry and its responsibility as a public cultural institution, FIRST promotes the integration of film art into the film industry, reserves talents and film projects with room for growth for the industry, and contributes to the ecological cycle of film, which means that it provides the industry with annual trends in filmmaking and key energy for the metabolism of the film industry.
    In 2012, FIRST added feature-length films into Main Competition secion. Over the past decade, FIRST film selection has covered over 53 countries and regions.
    FIRST invites a host of established and esteemed filmmakers to sit on the Jury Committee and to maintain a strict and just juror system. Since 2012, the Festival has been honored to have Xu Feng (Taiwan, China), Ann Hui (Hong Kong, China), Xie Fei (China), Jiang Wen (China), Wong Kar-wai (Hong Kong, China) , Lou Ye (China) ,Chen Guo Fu (Taiwan, China) ,Diao Yi Nan(China) and Zhang Ai Jia(Taiwan,China) as Jury Presidents, and Xu Zheng, Qin Hailu, Deng Chao, Huang Bo, Chen Kun, Zhou Xun, Zhao wei, Hu Ge, Zhu Ya Wen, Wang Chuan Jun, Zhou Dong Yu, Hai Qing,Li Fei,Yi Yangqianxi,Wen Muye,Jing Boran,Huang Xiaoming,Yao Chen,Lei Jiayin and Xin Yukun as spokespersons.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit exceeded. Please complete the captcha once again.